Birth and Death Certificates
Due to the Recent CovID-19 outbreak, The Health Department is closed to the public until further notice.
We are accepting applications for Birth or Death Certificates via mail. Please make sure all proper required identification is included. See below for application link.
With the new statewide issuance law now in effect, if the vital record you are requesting falls within the dates listed below, you can obtain the copies from any Register of Deeds office in the State of Wisconsin.
Records available for statewide issuance
Birth Certificates from October 1, 1907 to present
Death Certificates from September 1, 2013 to present
For Office Walk-Ins
Due to the change in how our office now obtains vital records, it may take 15 to 20 minutes to obtain a copy of the requested record in person. Please note that Birth and Death Certificates are processed between the hours of 8 a.m. and 4:30 p.m.
Certified copies of birth and death certificates may be obtained at the West Allis Health Department for births or deaths that occurred in the State of Wisconsin. The charge for birth and death certificates is $20. Additional copies ordered at the same time are $3 each. Please note we do not accept debit or credit cards as form of payment.
Important Application Information
Please read the application carefully to see who qualifies to receive a vital record certificate
If you are NOT a member of the IMMEDIATE family as listed on the application, you may only obtain the certificate under the following circumstances:
If you have a written and notarized authorization clearly stating the relationship of the authorizing party to the person named on the record or if you provide documentation that there is a legal purpose for obtaining the record.
For more information or to order a certificate, contact the Health Department at 414-302-8633.